You Saw My Blinker Bitch











{April 16, 2010}   It’s FRIDAY, not I day

So my who life I’ve been quite self centered. I know I am now, but I haven’t always been so insightful. I do try very hard now to LISTEN more and talk less. Of course I have to be one of those waits for her turn to talk people, so this whole listening thing is relatively new to me. I’m trying it, and liking it. I find out way more about people that way, and find that I learn more about myself that way too.

There is a HUGE problem with always being the talker, besides the one where you look like a total ass for always talking about or making things about yourself. That is that not only do I often have horrible social graces, but I don’t actually know how to communicate with others. I don’t know how to strike up a conversation and keep it going without making it all come back to ME (it really is all about me though, right???) or something I did, or want to do etc. So I’ve decided to start a new practice. I’m thinking that obviously it won’t start today, because damnit this whole fucking post is already “I” laden, but one Friday a month I will refrain from (to the greatest extent possible) talking about myself, using “I”, and generally being an asshole who only cares about ones self.

So next Friday, the 24th of April my experiment will begin. I will attempt to learn as much about someone, or something, or anything really as I possibly can. I will not wait for my turn to talk, but rather I will listen closely, take mental notes, pay attention for godssakes. Once I feel I can adequately handle one Friday a month, I will do every other week, until I can go one day every week where I am not the subject matter. I hope to learn a lot, about you, and about myself.

Go ahead and place your bets on how long it will last. My money’s on 2 Fridays.

Linsey says:

As you may well know, I sometimes find it impossible just to sit and listen. It’s hard work when your inclination is to offer words of support or encouragement or advice people don’t want or need. It’s one of those many things I’m working on…sitting in silence while people say what they need to say. And you know what? It’s amazing…what you will learn and what you hear when you’re not busy trying to think of what to say next, or interrupting to get your point across. 🙂



Leave a Reply

et cetera
